Isle of Mull Bird Club - Oystercatcher Logo
Home Page Mull Bird Club Indoor Meetings and Field Trips
Bohemian Waxwing (Bombycilla garrulus)  Andrew Oldacre

Meetings of the Isle of Mull Bird Club,
for the 2017/2018 Season

 

Next Meeting

The next Bird Club meeting is on Friday 23rd February

An illustrated talk by Jan Dunlop

"What does the Ranger Service Do?"

Golden Eagle

A walk on the beach at Erraid; other walks are available ...

Saturday 24th February - Fieldtrip to Lochdon etc.

 

Friday 23rd February 2018
Indoor meeting at Craignure Village Hall, 7.30pm. Jan Dunlop, Countryside Ranger manager will give an illustrated talk: "What does the Ranger Service Do?"

 

Saturday 24th February 2018
Fieldtrip to Lochs Don, Spelve and Buie. Meet at 10am at Craignure Village Hall, returning to Craignure for tea at the Craignure Inn at 4pm.

Friday 23rd March 2018
Indoor meeting at Craignure Village Hall, 7.30pm. Dr Ally Phillimore, Evolutionary ecologist at Edinburgh University. “Timing is everything” Phenology is the study of the seasons; how are earlier springs and climate change impacting on the species around us?

 

Saturday 24th March 2018
Fieldtrip to North West Mull. Meet at 10am at Dervaig Village Hall, finishing at the Bellachroy Inn at 4pm.

Friday 20th April 2018
Indoor meeting at Craignure Village Hall, 7.30pm. Mull Bird Club AGM followed by an illustrated talk by Richard Luxmoore, Senior Conservation Advisor NTS. Richard conducts seabird counts including in the waters around Mull. (Suggested title - How are our seabirds doing?)

 

Saturday 21st April 2018
Fieldtrip to Morvern. Meet at Fishnish at 9.50 to take the 10am ferry to Lochaline as foot passengers where we will transfer to the Lochaline Community Bus. Returning for tea at the cafe at 4pm and to take the 16.45 ferry back to Fishnish arriving at 17.03.

 

Diary Dates

 

2017

Friday 22nd September (Indoor Meeting)

Saturday 23rd September (Field Trip)

Friday 20th October (Indoor Meeting)

Saturday 21st October (Field Trip)

Friday 17th November (Indoor Meeting)

Saturday 20th November (Field Trip)

Friday 8th December (Christmas Dinner)

Sunday 10th December (Field Trip)

2018

Friday 12th January (Indoor Meeting)

Saturday 13th January (Field Trip, BBC)

Friday 23rd February (Indoor Meeting)

Saturday 24th February (Field Trip)

Friday 23rd March (Indoor Meeting)

Saturday 24th March (Field Trip)

Friday 20th April (AGM)

Saturday 21st April (Field Trip)

 

Summer Events 2017

Click Here

Contact Mull Bird Club by e-mail:

Club Secretary

Membership Secretary

Webmaster